Just Like Rain

I had forgotten what it is like to have a baby in the house until Rain came in to our lives. A bundle of energy in constant motion, Rain is a 7 month old of beagle and lab retriever descent who loves shoes, dirty laundry, and cat food. Sly and Lavender tolerate this new addition to our family and I am sure are thankful they do not have shoes for their furry paws to guard. Now, Rain knows shoes are off limits, but they hold an attraction he cannot resist. While furiously whipping his chew toy to and fro, this clever canine slowly inches himself closer to the irresistible object, then with lightening speed he drops the chew toy and grabs the shoe in what seems to be one fluid movement. With the precious cargo clenched between his teeth, Rain seems to sprout wings as he races away to enjoy his forbidden treasure. When I finally catch up with this thief of footwear, chocolate brown eyes in a long, sorrowful face greet me as if to say, “I’m sorry. I’ll never do it again.” Rain knows he did wrong. Oh, how many times have I found myself acting like Rain? How often do I do exactly what I know I should not? (Romans 7:14-25)

One thought on “Just Like Rain

  1. Pingback: Hmmm…Frolicking and Vigilant « My Hmmm Collection

Share Your Hmmm...

