Weathering the Storm

Howling winds and pounding rain were my alarm clock this morning.  For the better part of a week, we had been hearing about Hurricane Irene’s potential path and reminders to be prepared for likely power outages and flooding.  While double-checking emergency lighting, water reserves, watching the nearby creek for signs of flooding, and making phone calls to check on elderly and disabled family members, I was reminded of the old hymn, Till the Storm Passes By (1958, Mosie Lister) and a feeling a peace and calm overwhelmed me as I hummed. No matter what comes, I can count on God’s protection to keep me safe till the storm passes by. (Isaiah 25:4, Isaiah 43:1-3)

Share Your Hmmm...

