Hmmm… Oh, Such Sweetness

One of the most common sights of this festive season is the candy cane. While I am not a fan of peppermint, I do love the effect this charming tasty candy gives when hanging on the boughs of my Christmas tree. Hmmm… red and white hanging on a tree. I wonder if this is the reason for many poems and tales written about the meaning of this seasonal treat, including a book written by Lori Walburg titled, The Legend of the Candy Cane. Even though Snopes.com dismisses the validity of any legend written, the use of this ordinary minty flavored stick adds such sweetness to the real reason for the season.

The Sweetness of the Candy Cane

Hard Candy – Reminds us that Jesus is like a “ROCK”, strong and dependable

Psalm 31:3

Peppermint Flavor – Is like the gift of spices from the wise men.

Matthew 2:11

White Candy – Stands for Jesus as the holy, sinless Son of God

1 John 1:7

Cane – Is like a staff used by shepherds in caring for sheep. Jesus is our “Good Shepherd”.

John 10: 1-18, John 10:27-30

The Letter J. – Is for the name of Jesus, our Savior.

Matthew 1: 21

The Color Red – Is for God’s love that sent Jesus, and for Jesus’ love in giving His life for us on the cross.

John 3: 16 and Revelation 1:5

The Stripes – Reminds us of Jesus’ suffering – His crown of thorns, the wounds in His hands and feet, and the cross on which He died.

John 19: 1-30

 

10 thoughts on “Hmmm… Oh, Such Sweetness

  1. Pingback: “Share With The Children “ « Freedomborn

    • Thank you Anne. To help spread the true meaning of Christmas and all of its promises, one of my new posts includes a link to your “Share with the Children”. We must be willing to pass on the baton of Hope to the next generation.

      Merry Christmas!

      Like

  2. Hi Karin I was going to post the Story of the Candy Cane today as I mentioned it in my post Share with the Children, it is very good and each year I give a little candy cane with it attached to my Neighbours or People in the Shopping centers, it’s my way of sharing Christmas. I wish I knew how to do ping back I might just leave your link on it.

    I have written more then a few times to Snopes about their errors with Christian Stories and messages including this one, sadly one writer even professes to be a believer but he put both the cross and Miracles down. They are ok with basic things or wordly issues but do not understand about Faith and just go by negative hearsay or their own fleshy worldly understanding . When I have explained to them why they are wrong they don’t reply or retract what they have said even though I have shown them evidence to support the Truth of the Story etc ..sad but True.

    Christ- mas – Love Anne.

    Like

      • 1 Corinthians 2:14 But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are Spiritually discerned. (KJV)

        Very True Karin, but yes sad too, I have prayed for them, but their being right brings in the money, ours brings in God’s Glory and reinforces His Truth, which is much more powerful then a lie, and it will be shown to be that it is.

        Christian Love my Sister – Anne

        Like

      • Thank you Karin, I have now posted your link on my Share with the Children post, I will pray about what to share now on my Blog for today.

        Christian Love Anne.

        Like

Share Your Hmmm...

