Hmmm… In the Spotlight

God in the Spotlight

It is said confession is good for the soul and from experience, I know this to be true.  (Heavy sigh) Okay, here it goes…

I tag along with several blogs, some with Jesus as their foundation, a few centered on hobbies/activities of interest, and others purposed to sharpen my writing skills. While exploring the many tidbits of wisdom and encouragement, displays of award badges are found in many a sidebar making me wonder and whine to myself, “where is my award?”

Now you can imagine my excitement when I read the announcement from Drusilla Mott nominating me for the 7×7 Link Award. “Wahoo, I have received another award! I am being recognized again! Oh, I wonder if views to my blog will increase!” Then just as suddenly, a little whisper tickles my ear, “Sunshine, whose award? Who is the spotlight on? Whose blog is this?” Ouch! That tickle felt more like a 2×4 whacking me across the skull spilling mountains of pride through my ears. (Proverbs 16:5) As I run for a q-tip while rubbing my aching cranium, I ask God to forgive me and tell myself again, “Suck it up, sunshine, it’s NOT about you! It is about the One who created you!”

Now, in order to accept this award, there are certain requirements to fulfill. The first is to thank the one who nominated you. I am sure you will forgive me for first thanking my Creator for working through the ordinariness of my days as He gives me many hmmm moments to teach me more about Him. And, thank you, Dru, for considering me worthy of this recognition.

As for the other requirements, I find myself declining. Please do not think I am against this award or similar ones. We must be supportive of and encourage each other. (1 Thessalonians 5:11, Proverbs 25:11, Romans 1:12) However, I find the prerequisites a little unsettling. In my opinion, they draw attention back to me and I am not up for another wallop from His 2×4. So for me, paying this forward will come after asking advice from the One who finds it necessary to knock me over the noggin now and then. (Cleansing breath)

15 thoughts on “Hmmm… In the Spotlight

  1. Pingback: Hmmm… The Ripple Effect « My Hmmm Collection

  2. Hi isaiah43123, well having read all comments, I was especially uplifted by both yours and Dru’s, what are Awards really all about, well to me it is obedience reaching out to others in encouragement and acknowledgment of the work they are doing in God’s name, does it really hurt us to also do some work to insure it keeps happening, God sees our heart, yes words are important but why do you think Scriptures talk about winning the race, to receive the crown or to aim for the prize, yes it’s Spiritual but even the Awards keep us focused that is what Awards do, the wonderful thing with ours is they keep us focused on Loving God and each other, like both you and Dru shared and I agree 100% .

    God said to Adam it was not good for Him to be alone and yet they were in close fellowship, we are created to need each other, we are the Body of Christ, burying our heads in our Blogs all the time will stop fellowship, except for fleeting comments not meaning mine of course with all their wordage 😀 yes sometimes these comments do lead to friendship sometimes not but if your attitude is stick with the Blog, well friendships won’t happen.

    Someone who is very special to me told me she Loved me as a Sister and guess what I meet her Blogging and she has The King of Kings attached to her Blog and she prayed for me from the heart when my Sister died and believe me all that means more to me then a 100 posts that I could write.

    Thanks to both of you – Christian Love Anne

    Like

  3. You are not the only one that feels this way, and I agree. We do this for God, for His glory, and to bring others into His kingdom. If it wasn’t for Him, none of us would be here.

    On the other side of the coin, this is the way I viewed the awards:

    When I received my first award nomination, I was very uncomfortable, for various reasons, about accepting it. I was new to blogging, and did not know anything about any awards and was afraid of doing the wrong thing by not accepting it. When I got my others, accepting them was not so much about ‘blowing my own horn’ as it was about drawing attention to other great sites and sharing the blessings of these sights with my readers. I did not want to hurt the feelings of those not nominated, so what I have done with subsequest ones is make sure those that I nominate are different from previous ones so that I can draw more attention to other sites that may be a blessing. Doing this makes me go find new sites that may encourage others, and also help those on the site find new people to connect with.

    I felt that the awards were a way to join more bloggers together and to help us connect to each other. If it wasn’t for that first one, I probably would not be connected to half of the ones that I interact with, because it forced me to seek out new blogs to nominate.

    And I have to admit, I love the interaction with my brothers and sisters in Christ. 🙂

    I don’t know, Karin, I have really begun to wonder about this, since your post is not the only one that I have read where the writer decides to not participate. I did not feel any leading to not accept mine, but I will no longer just accept and pass on another award until I truly seek out God’s will for it.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and for your hmmm…collections. I really enjoy your posts.

    Like

    • Dru, thank you so much for your honesty and being very encouraging and supportive of me and others. You said accepting the other awards “was not so much about ‘blowing my own horn’ as it was about drawing attention to other great sites and sharing the blessings of these sights with my readers.” Blowing my own horn at the expense of other sites is what I want to avoid. So today, I updated my widgets to show exactly who is to receive credit for my writing. And yes, if not for the awards, joining with other bloggers would not be possible. Like you, I find the interaction very stimulating. 🙂 Without it I would not be learning more about my Creator. Reading what other bloggers are thinking prompts me to dig into His Word for His thoughts on the topic, which I may or may not pass along in comments. That is really the whole point to my collection, learning more about Him. Thanks again for being so open. Happy New Year! Karin

      Like

  4. I so agree. Recently in a discussion at a church council meeting I said if only one reads my post that is the one God wanted. By the way your writing is worthy of reward but acceptance by prayer is the best route.

    Like

Share Your Hmmm...

