Hmmm… Why Have Milk Toast When You Can Eat Steak?

That hmmm, heard during one of several weekly phone conversations with my mother, had me chuckling and running for pencil and paper. It is a saying I had not heard in some time and did not want to forget. Milk toast, considered a comfort food, consists of toasted bread soaked in warm milk and butter. Once popular throughout the late 19th century and early 20th century, it was given to young children and the ailing, for whom it was thought to be soothing and easy to digest. YUCK! How often are we fed milk toast; soft, bland speech lacking substance, never expressing true thoughts and feelings, only uttering what you want to hear, or what is considered politically correct? Too often, I dare say. It has become the norm to be tolerant or not cause offense in every area of our lives. Yet, in the process, we sacrifice what is genuine and straightforward; the steak, challenging and bold expressions of truth, honesty, and love bursting with flavor and texture. So, why have milk toast when we can eat steak? (Proverbs 15:14)

6 thoughts on “Hmmm… Why Have Milk Toast When You Can Eat Steak?

  1. Christianity is not a tip toe through the tulips kind of experience and God never wants the gospel to be watered down. I love what you said about, “genuine and straightforward; steak…” I agree. Hebrews 5:12 makes the matter plain. Great post thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Spot on isaiah43123 but then don’t people like everything instant like their coffee today… get to the point or even better still, no point, please feel free to express your thoughts but make them short because what I prefer more is just a pat on the back.

    isaiah43123 your HMMM’s are so True and say it as it is but don’t you realise you won’t be the most popular person on the Blog, your not being politically correct, I mean Blogging correct but then you are correcting error and God tells us to do this and He also tells us that itching ears won’t like it!… Try Blogging the Aussie way…no ear plugs!

    I tried Milk toast but found I was still hungry, perhaps I wasn’t sick enough or I needed more protein, the Faith building kind….thanks it tastes great.

    I Love you in The Lord isaiah43123 or as I usually say…

    Christian Love Anne… it’s shorter.

    Like

    • Yes, Anne, I have thought about the popularity thing but that is not what I am here for. Those receptive to the truth with see it while others will remain blind. Definitely, no ear plugs. 😀

      Like

Share Your Hmmm...

