Hmmm… A Lingering Scent

Lately, I have been thinking a lot about my mother’s button box. Well, it is not a box but more like an old tin, maybe from some forgotten holiday fruitcake. This metallic container holds a multitude of clothing fasteners from long worn out pieces of clothing. The clink-a-clunk sound created when shifting or shaking the tin produces great anticipation in discovering what treasures lie within. Upon lifting its lid, a faint aroma escapes. Lingering scents of the garments each button came from, mellowing to create a uniquely pleasant fragrance all its own.  Hmmm… do we give a lingering scent of the “garment” we are attached? Hmmm… I hope it is a pleasant one.  (Psalm 25)

(A BIG Thank you to my Yada Yada prayer group for helping me pull together my disjointed thoughts about Mom’s button box.)

4 thoughts on “Hmmm… A Lingering Scent

    • Thank you, my friend! Your fragrance isn’t bad either. 😀

      Keep the Faith, my God Chick!
      Karin

      (P.S. Wait for the next post… there is no doubt about the rightness of our yearly challenge!)

      Like

  1. Hmmm 2 Corinthians 2:14-16 Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place. For we are unto God a sweet savour of Christ, in them that are saved, and in them that perish: To the one we are the savour of death unto death; and to the other the savour of life unto life. And who is sufficient for these things?

    Some Translations say a pleasing aroma and some say a sweet fragrance or as you said scent.

    Do you think if people buttoned their lip instead of sharing God’s Truth they would smell better …but at what cost? Hmmm

    Like

    • Well, there it is; the elusive passage of scripture. And I am not surprised God used you to reveal it for me, Anne. 🙂 Intersting thought about buttoning the lip. I love it, my friend!

      Keep the Faith, my God Chick!
      Karin

      Like

Share Your Hmmm...

