Hmmm… An Excellent Fixed Point

In the movie, The Patriot, actor Mel Gibson’s character, Benjamin Martin, refers to “staying the course”, a phrase his deceased wife often gave when he was in danger of losing his focus. Because he considered her a stabilizing force in his life, he cherished a pendant she wore, a pendant in the shape of Polaris, more commonly known as the North Star. The North Star is said to be constant, never-changing its position in the sky. It appears the entire celestial sphere turns around this one star and when you face it, you always face north. Therefore, it makes an excellent fixed point from which to draw measurements for navigation. Hmmm… constant, never-changing, an excellent fixed point for navigation (Malachi 3:6, Hebrews 13:8, Proverbs 3:5-6); this sounds like Someone I know? How about you?

10 thoughts on “Hmmm… An Excellent Fixed Point

  1. Pingback: Focus « A Kiss Of Bliss

  2. Pingback: Hmmm… An Excellent Fixed Point | Inspirational Christian Blogs

  3. It certainly reminds me of Someone. It also is interesting that in several places God’s word alludes to His dwelling being in the Northernmost parts of heaven. I don’t know If I can think of where each of those verses are now, but, I can list a few.

    Job 26:7He stretcheth out the north over the empty place, and hangeth the earth upon nothing.
    Satan, interestingly enough claimed he would set up his throne above God…in the Northernmost parts of heaven, where there are no other stars. ( Maybe outer-darkness)?

    Isaiah 14:13 For thou hast said in thine heart, I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God: I will sit also upon the mount of the congregation, in the sides of the north:
    14I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will be like the most High.

    NASA Astronomers say they have discovered a dark area in the Norther most parts of the Universe with little, or no stars. I don’t know what to make of all of it…But, I do know, just as there is but one true north…There is but one True God.
    I could sit and look at His art work here on this site all day: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/spaceimages/ in fact I some times do.
    Bless You
    paul

    Like

  4. Hi Karen, you really got me pondering, Proverbs 3:5-6 was the first Rhema Scripture God gave me and it is something that confirms we are to ask for Gods wisdom and not Trust in man’s, as you also shared.

    It was interesting about the North Star or Polaris as was the South Star although with this one not being fixed The Southern Cross constellation functions as an approximate southern pole constellation, by pointing to where a southern pole star would be. At the equator it is possible to see both Polaris and the Southern Cross. This link was very helpful with understanding about both… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Star… but there is always a warning with links as there is often contradictions and man’s wordly or fleshy understanding, this is why we must always Trust in God’s knowledge first.

    As I was looking for this reference on the Polaris and the Southern Cross I also found other references to how man has distorted God’s Truth in regard to many things including the Southern Cross and even the Eagle which is mentioned in Scripture as used both by God but also by man to exult himself, we see in many cultures today, God is as they want to understand Him not as He is in reality.

    Thank you Karin it was a very interesting time of pondering and more came to light then I have shared today but perhaps will do so in the future.

    I’m sending the links I promised today – Christian Love Anne.

    Like

Share Your Hmmm...

