Hmmm… Another Knock on the Noggin

Ouch! Why does it take a knock or two on the noggin for me to wake up and realize what I am not doing may be a comfortable state to live in but it does not make it right! (Romans 7:15) This comfortable state called the accumulation of stuff arrives with seemingly lack of effort, but in the last few months, I have begun to reduce my possessions and responsibilities to a minimum. Clothes, books, knick-knacks, and gadgets are finding new homes. Responsibilities are being evaluated, scaled back, or backed away from. These actions have already affected my blood pressure for the positive.  “But, what of the stuff around your middle, that rubbish in My house?” Ouch! That was the 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 2×4 knockin’ on my noggin. Well, I could give many excuses for the years of emotional eating, for not doing what I should including the fact; in my family, the very word family is synonymous with food, whether the situation is good or bad, but… Ouch! That James 4:17 2×4 really hurt! I was going to say, it is not going to be easy changing years of unconscious habit and, I cannot do it alone. Ouch! Okay, I know this one well, Isaiah 43:1-4.  So, I am asking for your help, your wisdom to clear out Your house, to take back Your temple. (Philippians 4:13, James 1:5)

3 thoughts on “Hmmm… Another Knock on the Noggin

  1. I know what you mean Sis by collecting stuff over the years I could stock a whole second-hand shop but when it comes to food God tells it is not what we eat or don’t eat that commends us to Him but they use to sacrifice food to Pagan gods and great immorality was associated with their feasts and also gluttony even to the point of them being physically sick because they overate. God tells us to have a balance in everything and that includes food which He created to be enjoyed many diets lack balance, how do you spell Die-t … it really is a bondage, and in some ways a god, we are to keep a good balance in all things … .

    His temple is not just our physical bodies that are wearing out but our heart, our mind and our spirit, these are all the Temple of God that we are to keep pure but as we walk in Christ Jesus being Born again we are empowered to do so.

    1 Corinthians 8:8 But (meat ) food does not commend us to God; for neither if we eat are we the better, nor if we do not eat are we the worse.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

Share Your Hmmm...

