Hmmm… Where is Your Monkey?

Do you ever wonder if you live in a zoo, a place of crowding, confusion, and chaotic noise? There are times I do and even question which animal I am. When the commotion becomes too much to handle, I want to throw my hands in the air and cry, “Calgon take me away!” Well, I had my Calgon moment this past Saturday at a one day Women of Faith event; a fantastic time of spiritual refreshment shared with three of my God chicks. That in itself is exciting because we represent four generations of women enjoying an incredible time of laughter, tears, hmmms, and music. It was during this brief escape from chaotic captivity, I realized we are not chicks but monkeys. In response to the question, “where is your monkey”, Sheila Walsh briefly described how a single monkey’s stress hormones increase when subjected to loud, annoying noises and bright lights. However, when a second monkey joins in to experience the same pressure, the first monkey’s stress hormones decreased. Therefore, you see, we are monkeys, not chicks swinging through this jungle of bananas and fruitcakes offering support, encouragement, love, and even correction while helping each other become the person God wants her to be. (Philippians 2:1-4)

And you, where is your monkey?

P.S. To my God Monkeys (you know who you are) – I concede to picking through your hair, but I draw the line at eating what I find there! 😀

 

9 thoughts on “Hmmm… Where is Your Monkey?

  1. Pingback: And, the Trump-et Blows | My Hmmm Collection

  2. “P.S. To my God Monkeys (you know who you are) – I concede to picking through your hair, but I draw the line at eating what I find there!” ~ Why not?!? hmmm… 🙂 The time off has spruced your mind and heart to present us with a masterpiece! Thanks good friend and God bless!

    Like

    • Thank you for the wonderful words of encouragement! That little hiatus was not a planned one. Can you say STRESS? Then again stressed spelled backwards is desserts, which is not a good thing for a stress eater like me. Oh, another hmmm just popped in; its time to chew on it for a bit.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

  3. Hi friend! Goodness there are many days that I feel like a monkey too! OOOaaaahhhhOOO 🙂 But thankfully God calls us to live in community with one another, so it doesn’t shock me that monkeys are also “calmed” down a bit when doing life together! Glad you were able to get away and joy some time with your fellow sisters.

    Like

  4. Wow Karin 500 + but I can relate to this although perhaps, thankfully not the volume. When we came back from holidays I also had heaps as well as the on going Hacker problems and no Power points created that I had promised, this was because of having very little contact with the Internet and sadness with Missy dying.

    So I prayed and asked God to motivate me to respond to those that were needing His teaching, encouragement, support or correction and also for me to receive these from those He chose, but of course I also visit often with my close contacts which I always feel lead to do with God putting them in my heart but even so I do pray for His priority even with these dear Blogging friends.

    So good to have you back Little Sis, I have missed you greatly.

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear about Missy. Any loss is diffucult but we know The One who provides soothing love and comfort.

      After responding to your last comment, I too asked God to give me the time to read and respond to the blog posts He wants wants me pay attention. Thanking God for answered prayer as this morning is that time. All the errands needing my attention were taken care of earlier in the week.

      God is good, All the time. All the time, God is good.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

  5. Hi KarIn, good to see you posting again. no doubt you are thankful too with more time now that your Dad has fully recovered…good news.

    To be honest I don’t relate myself to any Animal although I love them, God tells us we are of a higher order and we can even see this with our belly buttons but I can appreciate the analogy and have used simular but in reverse, I will leave a link as there would be too much detail needed to explain now.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/news-flash-missing-link-found/

    We are the Body of Christ and He has given us guidelines even in Worship and how we are to praise Him in song which brings Unity and Maturity and as we can see in the Scriptures below, there is always a balance which is needed to reach out to all generations especially the elderly who have joyful memories of the music they grew up with or enjoyed as new Christians, for me it was Scripture in Song, some had really beautiful words straight from Scripture, a few of my favourites were Bind us together in Love and a New Commandment I give unto you to Love one another. My first Church was a close Loving family of all ages we were there for 20 years and there was great Unity and Love and I’m sure our heartfelt worship was the unifying strengh that we had in The Lord.

    Ephesians 5:18-20 And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; Speaking to yourselves in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

    Colossians 3:15-17And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by Him.

    Christian Love Anne

    Like

    • Hi Anne. It is good to be posting again, although I have not had time to catch up with reading the 500+ blog postings since being away for a while. Ugh… there is that stress thing again. Thank you for these precious verses… very timely for me right now. Keep the Faith!

      Like

Share Your Hmmm...

