Hmmm… Keep the Faith!

When commenting to other blog posts, do you have a signature saying you close with? I close with “Keep the Faith”, which I did in a comment the other day on a Christian blog and was surprised, but not offended, to receive the following reply,

“Keep the Faith” has become a cliché. There are too many ideas of what that is. We are obviously NOT “standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel.” (Philippians 1:27)

I know what I mean when I say, “Keep the Faith” and am curious to know what it means to you. Do you believe as the blogger above, that it is an overused phrase without effect?

Will I change my signature closing in light of this bloggers opinion? No, because I know what I am saying when I use it, and it is not cliché.

24 thoughts on “Hmmm… Keep the Faith!

  1. Keep on keeping the faith good friend! We would have it no other way (nor would you, I presume). It’s actually a very meaningful statement that I am encouraged to hear every time you proclaim it. We are prone to shrinking back… quitting, and I love knowing that someone is there encouraging us to remember where our strength lies… in Christ. God bless.

    Like

    • Thank you for the encouragment! That is exactly how I feel about it, an encouragement for myself and others to persevere no matter what.
      Keep the Faith, my friend!

      Like

  2. to me, statements only become cliche to those who either don’t fully understand their meaning or…..don’t see beyond the world’s popular definitions….don’t change – by all means….KEEP THE FAITH! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Exercising and testing your faith « My Takes

  4. I never hear the phrase outside of you closing a comment with it. I think it reminds us to stand together in our beliefs to become strong in the body of Christ. So Praise God and Keep keeping on with your phrase!
    God Bless you & yours!

    Like

    • No offense taken, Lyn and thank you! I write about what God shows me through the ordinariness of my day. Without Him, this blog would not exist. Thanks again, I’ll be over soon and will add this award to the Awards page.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

      • I feel the same way…it’s not my website, it’s the Lord’s…therefore, I always feel as if I do not deserve it, and I feel wrong for posting them sometimes; however, I think if a person who does not know Him, or is living in unrepentance sees the award, they might think to themselves, “Oh, this person must have something good to read.” And then they might stop and read something that might minister to them. Also, someone could be searching on the net and type in the word award, or one of the words that is on it, and it could lead them here. I don’t know, for what it’s worth, that’s why I post them. They do make me feel good in the sense that the person who issued the award to me really appreicates what is done on the website. God bless you..and trying to keep the faith everyday; you keep the faith too sis!

        Like

      • Good, I’m glad you know what I mean 🙂 Me personally, I don’t think like that..sites are really good whether they have awards or not..what makes them especially good is when they’re anointed by the Lord. However, this is how the world oftentimes thinks, and not only do I want my Christian friends to come to my site, I want people who do not know Him to come too. Here lately I’ve been trying to go around to people’s blog’s that don’t appear very Christian and liking something on their page so they’ll come to mine and get witnessed to by something that’s been written. God bless you!

        Like

      • Wow, we are definitely on the same wave length. I enjoy the relationships of other Christian bloggers but wonder how to connect with those who don’t appear to believe which is why I look for and comment on blogs associated with my hobbies. I believe blogging can be used in a greater way to share His story. We just need to be creative in how to do that.
        Keep the Faith!

        Like

  5. Good Morning Papa, Jesus & Holy Spirit, This discussion reminds me of the last comment I read yesterday at the Upper Room devotional on-line site (these thoughts may all run together & it is not my intention but at this time my lack of skills); my first reaction was I don’t want to go to the site again because I felt the comment was an ‘attack’ on my sharing & that of some others I developed an on-line relationship. With the Holy Spirit, I have been trying to sort through this new tech-world that allows us to try to communicate without being face to face & share; without have the ‘contect’ of what part of our journey brought us to the ‘statement of Faith’ we share. (Hope this is making sense). I only started connecting to on-line sites & blogs since Feb. & it is opening up channel for me to grow in my faith; but also channels for much misunderstanding & negativity. Dear Karin, As not to labor this further at this time & with the knowledge that the U R is a site that you also partake in (again, Thank you! Thank you! for Hmmm – I have felt my conversations increase in the Holy Spirit & the Hmmm… topic for that day; it always something I need to ponder with the Spirit. I am daily in “Keep the Faith” (aka Karin) & i am nothing; every thought I want to share I pray is summitted to the Spirit & it He alone that gives me joy & priviledge of signing off with… Oh, How He loves us… I love you, Papa!!! (PS, I have decided at this time to still visit the U R; but I can not share until I have clear understanding with the my BFF, the Holy Spirit. Thank you, for the shared trust & love to express on this blog!)

    Like

    • Good evening, papajesusholyspirit. First let me welcome you to the world of blogging where a believer’s thinking is challenged by anothers’ thoughts and opinions.
      As believers we should welcome this challenge, to know what we believe and why so we can be ready to explain it to others.

      Each person’s comments are born out of their life experiences and while reading them, whether on my blog or another, I try to read between the lines. As you say, without face to face contact, the lack of vocal tone, body language and facial expression, much may be lost. However, if we remember the commenter is a soul seeking Truth, then the possiblity of internalizing their words should not be an issue.

      As for expressing oneself on this blog, all are welcome. However, I do insist on the use of manners.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

  6. Hi Sis, one thing that I know is that your genuine and if you say something you mean it and feel it. Sadly some will look for something to criticize even if there is nothing, this is even True when your sharing God’s Truth as confirmed in the Scriptures and Keep The Faith is indeed very much confirmed in them.

    2 Timothy 4:6-8 For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I HAVE KEPT THE FAITH Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have Loved His appearing.

    I had a person comment on one of my Stories recently, not one of mine just one I loved and shared, Author unknown, this woman said she would rather have had someone else share it, I thought but didn’t say, then why bother coming on my Blog, her intention was to upset me, sorry Sis but you experienced the same, wonderful that your secure and well grounded in you Faith and unlike many you keep it.

    Do you know Sis, God tells us over and over and over again to Walk in Love Hmmmm is it just a cliché, some must think so …sad but True.

    1 Corinthians 13:2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not Love, I am nothing.

    1 Corinthians 13:13 And now abide Faith, Hope, Love, these three; but the greatest of these is Love.

    Christian Love Anne

    Walk in Love!

    Like

    • Thank you, Anne for your encouragement. There will be those who feel the need to attack with criticism and even hate. Our response to their attack will be the difference in their seeing the Truth.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

      • It is True what you say for some Sis but Jesus also tells us that we will be hated by many and His Truth ignored, that they will have a form of Godliness but deny the Power of The Holy Spirit, which is shown in Love and righteousness but yes we are to Love even our enemies and those who hate us and spitefully use us or slander us, does this mean we stop sharing God’s Truth and yes sometimes firmly as Paul said …did it stop Jesus who called the Pharisees’ a brood of vipers and got the whip out, and He was not slow in correcting the Church leaders and teachers but He also walked away when His Truth was ignored.

        It is also True that some cause dissension and when a Man or Woman are disobedient to God this will happen but it is those who do not agree with and obey God’s Truth that cause problems not those who are faithful to stand up for His guidelines, yes they may be argued against or ignored, slandered and rejected by many but it is those who are in error who God will hold accountable. Itching ears will only accept what fits in with their own agenda which is mostly not Gods and yes what they propergate will be popular because it appeals to the wordly flesh… sad but True.

        Christian Love Anne

        Like

  7. I love your last paragraph.

    To the pure, all things are pure. Hallelujah can be a cliché to some but it can also be a fathomless word, whose meaning we can never fully grasp until we see Jesus. So also is “keep the faith.” It can be loaded with meaning if one has a personal revelation of it and because it comes from the mind of One whose wisdom is of “infinite variety and innumerable aspects”, it will mean different things to different people.

    The response you got may also be an “invitation to treat”. The person may want to understand it more. So maybe you can do a post on “keep the faith?” It will enrich all of us.

    Please keep the faith. Cliché or not, we had better keep the faith!

    Like

    • Thank you, Tolu. As you say, “keep the faith” does have much personal meaning for me and is an encouragment for myself as much as anyone else. Your suggestion that the reply was “an invitation to treat” did cross my mind, but did not think the comment section in another blog was the place to address it. Thank you for suggesting a post. Will give it much prayer.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

  8. To me it means don’t allow things to make me doubt in the Lord. To keep my substance of things hoped for, and my belief in the evidence of those things I can’t see continuously active so that I do not give place for the enemy. God’s word says that without faith, it is IMPOSSIBLE to please God. Maybe whoever said this to you need to think more deeply about things that are said, read, and written. Maybe their mind is conditioned more on the worldly things, and not on the things of God. If their mind was focused on the things of God, they would take it in a similar fashion as I’ve stated. How can a Christian hear the word “Faith” and not think of the verse—faith is the substance of things hoped for; the evidence of things not seen..” Hey, and you’re right..don’t stop using your awesome little tagline.. and by the way sister, keep the faith!

    Like

    • Thank you Lyn. To me, that closing means to not give up hope, to not quit in the face of adversity and to stay the course. I didn’t give much thought to the motive or reasons behind the reply, but you did bring up some good points. It did challenge my thinking of what I believe and why, which is a good thing. And yes, I will Keep the Faith!

      Like

Share Your Hmmm...

