Hmmm… Dietary Choices and Racism

Inevitably, our conversation at family gatherings center on politics, even though we agree at the outset to stay away from the explosive topic. Such was the case at our latest get-together this past weekend when one sister related the story of a Portland principal who sees a tie between a favorite lunch staple, the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and racism.

I must confess after reading the article online, I don’t get it. I can’t follow the educator’s logic. Instead, I have several questions.

  • What does the color of my skin have to do with the now questionable mealtime delight that often filled my childhood lunches and an occasionally adult one?
  • Must my dietary choices be determined by what is politically correct or stay within my ethnic background?
  • Can I no longer frequent my favorite Chinese Buffet or Mexican Restaurant?
  • Must I make a stand against the simple pleasure of Oreo cookies and milk, or a comforting bowl of tomato soup with crackers?
  • Has the line between ethnicity and racism become so blurred we find it difficult to tell the difference?

“Maybe, by human standards,” says a still small voice, “but with Me there is only one race, the human race. To put it in simple terms, for Me there is no difference in the color of your skin because I AM color-blind.” (Acts 17:26)

6 thoughts on “Hmmm… Dietary Choices and Racism

  1. Really LIKE this. I’m not sure if God is color-blind or if He delights in all colors and that’s why He made them — but we humans find whatever reason to fuss. 🙂

    Like

  2. The Huffington Post is pretty huffy in its postings. It once printed an article that I know to be totally biased – it did not present the entire story, in order to stir up sympathy for the person it was ‘reporting’ about. I knew the folks on the other side of the story. And when I read this one from your link above, it served to confirm my opinion of them. Not that I hate them, but I do not trust anything they put out. I see them as simply non-believers who preach what they practice.
    I also confirm that the only TRUE source of knowledge and lessons for proper treatment of each other is the Bible. I’m very, very glad the LORD is colorblind, and that there is only one race of people in His eyes. Otherwise, I’d be in deep trouble, being a mix of English, Irish, Cherokee, and probably a couple more somewhere in my ancestry. OH – and by the way…I love peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, and chop suey, and tortillas, and curry chicken, and …….

    Like

  3. Pingback: Love and Friendship in Deversity | Freedomborn…set free

  4. Thank you Sis, I too am colour blind, who does anyone think they are to claim that they are better then someone else because of their colour or lack of it, or for any other reason, we are all rotten sinners forgiven by Grace not because of our skin colour.

    I can honestly say there is no human being I dislike to any degree, I may not appreciate their words or actions and even hate them but then I have probably said and done much worse at some time in my life.

    Yes I correct and rebuke with God’s Truth regardless of skin colour, as others have done to me, which I’m now very thankful for but I do not hold on to bitterness and resentment, I deal with it and if needed make amends and seek resolution but if not wanted I move on in Love..

    Christian Love Anne.

    Like

Share Your Hmmm...

