Hmmm… The Spice of Life

English: Indian spice

If you read my About page, you know I am not a fan of baking but love to cook. Baking feels somewhat restrictive with its exact measurement of ingredients, where cooking allows for uninhibited creativity. This makes mixing flavorful and aromatic spice and herb blends so attractive and shopping at a favorite Mennonite store pleasurable because of their abundant supply of inexpensive herbs and spices, especially those not carried by the more popular grocery store chains. You have heard the saying, “like a kid in a candy store.” Well, that is me smiling and wide-eyed as I choose the next savory item for my spice cupboard. While I review a dry onion soup mix recipe I received from a friend, I cannot help but think of the two women who after Jesus’ death began preparing several pounds of spices for His burial. (Mark 16:1-2) What were they thinking? In their memories of their dearly loved friend, did they marvel at how mundane their existence was prior to His influence? Did they realize the flavor of joy in their lives, the spice of life, was possible only by the presence of Jesus who gave life meaning (and continues to) by winning the victory over everything that was against them? (Psalm 16:8-11, John 19:25-30) Do you have the spice of life? (John 3:16-18)

4 thoughts on “Hmmm… The Spice of Life

    • Thank you, my friend! The hmmming is always occuring with jottings on paper scraps and voice notes on a recorder. Now that I have more time, thanks to a change in the work schedule, I can finally connect them into a clear thought.
      Keep the Faith!

      Like

Share Your Hmmm...

